TWU joins elite Royal Society of Canada

TWU is now part of the elite Royal Society of Canada – a nationally distinguished association of scientists and scholars.

It’s called the Royal Society of Canada (RSC) and Trinity Western University (TWU) is pleased to announce that it has recently joined this oldest and most distinguished association of scientists and scholars in the nation. Dedicated to encouraging education and the advancement of knowledge in the natural and social sciences and humanities, it was founded in 1882 by the Governor General, The Marquess of Lorne. The RSC consists of over 1900 “Fellows” – scholars from across the country who are selected by peers for their contributions in their respectful fields of arts, humanities and sciences. 

TWU becomes the 42nd member of the Society and the first/only private Canadian university to have received an institutional membership. TWU Provost Dr. Dennis Jameson says, “We are excited that TWU is now part of the Royal Society of Canada. Our annual participation in the Society will help to elevate TWU's profile on the national stage, and provide opportunity for recognition of its bestlibrary-atrium scholars, and support for their accomplishments and qualifying research.” 

As part of the Royal Society of Canada, TWU may selectively nominate its own scholars for the elite status of Fellow and for approximately 20 prestigious academic awards.

More information on the Royal Society of Canada can be found by visiting the Canadian Encyclopedia at:

TWU offers 42 undergraduate majors, ranging from biotechnology, education, nursing, theatre and music, to psychology, communications and biblical studies. TWU's 16 graduate degree programs include counseling psychology, business, theology, linguistics, and leadership, and interdisciplinary degrees in English, philosophy and history. TWU holds Canada Research Chairs in Dead Sea Scroll Studies, Developmental Genetics and Disease, and Interpretation, Religion & Culture.


Last Updated: 2009-08-27
Author: Erin Mussolum