RICHMOND, British Columbia –
The Trinity Western’s men’s volleyball team was one of the three teams nominated for Sport BC’s Team of the Year and former Spartans men’s basketball forward Jacob Doerksen was one of three athlete nominated for University Athlete of the Year when the finalists were announced Tuesday.

The awards ceremony and gala dinner will be Mar. 8 at the River Rock Show Theater in Richmond, B.C.

The Spartans men’s volleyball team won the CIS national championship in 2011 on home court after they defeated Brandon 3-0 (25-12, 25-22, 27-25) in front of nearly 2,000 fans at the Langley Events Centre last March.

It was the second national title Trinity Western’s men’s volleyball program has brought back to the Langley, B.C. campus after first taking top spot in 2006.

After a 13-5 regular season record, the Spartans went on to capture the Canada West bronze medal before returning home for their national championship winning run.

For the first time in CIS history, the Spartans were forced to beat three Canada West schools in the championship tournament as they knocked off Alberta 3-2 in the quarter-final, Calgary 3-2 in the semifinal and then Brandon in the final.

The men’s volleyball team will be up against the UBC Women’s Volleyball team, who won the CIS national championship for the fourth year in a row, and the Surrey United soccer team, for the Team of the Year Award presented by the TEAM 1040.

Doerksen, who is currently playing professional basketball in Germany with the UBC Hannover Tigers, had a stellar 2010-11 campaign as he helped the Spartans to a CIS national championship silver medal and a Canada West bronze medal.

He was named a Canada West and CIS First Team All-Star and a CIS national championship All-Star.

In the regular season, he averaged 21.6 points per game (3rd in Canada West), 7.8 rebounds per game (8th in CW), a .621 field goal percentage (2nd in CW) and a .425 3-pt percentage (9th in CW). In the playoffs, he averaged 23.8 points per game (3rd in CW), 10.3 rebounds per game (2nd in CW), a .526 field goal percentage (9th in CW), 1.00 blocked shots per game (tied for 3rd in CW) and 37.25 minutes played per game (1st in CW).

Last year he also set the TWU with record for most points in a game with 42 against Fraser Valley Dec. 4, 2011 and went on to leave the school second on the TWU all-time scoring list with 1,852 points and second on the TWU all-time rebounding list with 781 rebounds.

Following the 2010-11 season, Doerksen was also awarded Trinity Western’s Complete Champion Award™ which is given to graduating athletes who excel in all aspects of their university lives including academics, athletics, leadership and personal and spiritual development.

Doerksen is up against UBC women’s volleyball player Shanice Marcelle and Simon Fraser runner Helen Crofts for the University Athlete of the Year Award, presented by the Vancouver Sun.

The awards ceremony recognizes BC’s best amateur athletes, coaches, and officials for outstanding performances in their sport over the 2011 season. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial Sport Organization, high school or university, and voted for by a selection committee of BC sportswriters, broadcasters, athletes and amateur sport experts.

“We received a number of very strong nominations this year from our Provincial Sport Organizations,” said Sport BC’s Event Manager, Carey Summerfelt. “Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards provides a great opportunity to give these talented athletes, coaches and officials the recognition they deserve.”

Other awards presented at the ceremony include Best of BC, a people’s choice award presented to an outstanding professional or amateur BC athlete. Submit your vote starting January 23 for the Best of BC award winner and reserve tickets for the dinner and award ceremony at

Sport BC’s 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Award Finalists:

Athlete with a Disability, presented by the Province of British Columbia
Braedon Dolfo (Langley, BC) – BC Blind Sports Athletics
David Scott Patterson (Vancouver, BC) – Swimming
Michelle Stilwell (Nanoose, BC) – Wheelchair Athletics

Coach of the Year, presented by Canadian Sport Centre Pacific
Anatoliy Bondarchuk (Kamloops, BC) – Athletics
Peter Lawless (Victoria, BC) – Wheelchair Athletics/ Handcycling
Bruce Wilson (Victoria, BC) – Soccer

College Athlete of the Year
Li (Melody) Liang (Burnaby, BC) – Badminton, Douglas College
William Quiring (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball, Columbia Bible College
Preston Tucker (Vernon, BC) – Volleyball, UBC Okanagan

High School Female Athlete of the Year, presented by Scotiabank
Georgia Ellenwood (Langley, BC) – Athletics, Langley Secondary School
Alexandra McCawley (North Vancouver, BC) – Field Hockey/Basketball/Rugby, Carson Graham Secondary
Emily Oxland (North Vancouver, BC) – Volleyball, Handsworth Secondary

High School Male Athlete of the Year, presented by The Province
Sunny Dhinsa (Abbotsford, BC) – Wrestling, WJ Mouat Secondary
Adam Keenan (Victoria, BC) – Athletics, Lambrick Park Secondary
Reiner Theil (West Vancouver, BC) – Basketball/Football, Vancouver College

Junior Female Athlete of the Year
Shirley Fu (Burnaby, BC) – Table Tennis
Jisoo Keel (Coquitlam, BC) – Golf
Emily Schmidt (Victoria, BC) – Diving

Junior Male Athlete of the Year, presented by Triple O’s
Curtis Lazar (Vernon, BC) – Hockey
Kevin Kwon (Pitt Meadows, BC) – Golf
Filip Peliwo (North Vancouver, BC) – Tennis

Master Athlete of the Year
Christa Bortignon (West Vancouver, BC) – Athletics
Margaret Hudson (Port Alberni, BC) – Badminton
Stephanie Keifer (Vancouver, BC) – Triathlon

Official of the Year, presented by
Jim Mitchell (Abbotsford, BC) – Wrestling
Terry Mosdell (Surrey, BC) – Lacrosse
Wayne Van Osterhout (Victoria, BC) – Rowing

Senior Female Athlete of the Year
Paula Findlay (Victoria, BC) – Triathlon
Amanda Gerhart (Vancouver, BC) – Wrestling
Rebecca Marino (Vancouver, BC) – Tennis

Senior Male Athlete of the Year, presented by TELUS
Dylan Armstrong (Kamloops, BC) – Athletics – Shot Put
Ryan Cochrane (Victoria, BC) – Swimming
Vasek Pospisil (Vancouver, BC) – Tennis

Team of the Year, presented by the TEAM 1040
Surrey United (Surrey, BC) – Soccer
TWU Men’s Volleyball (Langley, BC) – Volleyball
UBC Women’s Volleyball (Vancouver, BC) – Volleyball

University Athlete of the Year, presented by the Vancouver Sun
Helen Crofts (West Vancouver, BC) – Athletics, Simon Fraser University
Jacob Doerksen (Langley, BC) – Basketball, Trinity Western University
Shanice Marcelle (Vancouver, BC) – Volleyball, University of British Columbia

About Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards:
Sport BC’s Athlete of the Year Awards is the longest standing sport recognition event in the country. Awards in 17 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province. The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success and recognizing some of BC’s growing talents. For a list of previous award winners and additional information on the 46th Annual Athlete of the Year Awards presented by TELUS, please visit


Last Updated: 2012-01-11
Author: Mark Janzen