Lance Verhoeff-Making His Mark

Lance Verhoeff

Men's Basketball
Forward
Third Year
6'8"
Business

We were never meant to do this life on our own and every aspect of an athlete's life is a tribute to that. Regardless of whether they are engaged in an individual or team sport, every athlete is surrounded by people who train, support, uplift and inspire them. It is the stories of these essential relationships that form the threads of each athlete's story. Spartan forward Lance Verhoeff is no exception as his basketball journey is one intricately woven - combining not only his own unique threads but those of his family as well.

Growing up in Calgary, Lance began playing hoops at a fairly young age and while he also participated in a number of other community sports during his childhood local coaches began to recognize his natural ability with the basketball. "I went to Trinity Christian School and when I was in Grade 5 I started playing for the Grade 7/8 team which isn't entirely regular but it was cool for me because it got me into the game early."
Lance played through middle school and joined a local club team - the Calgary Selects. In Grade 10 he transferred to Calgary Christian High School where he got placed on the Senior Team and had an immediate impact. "We came in the top four every year at the Provincial Championships while I was at Calgary Christian and I don't think we ever lost a league or playoff game," recalls Lance. He also played for the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) club team - the Jr. Trojans.