David E. Enarson Gym Final Games

David E. Enason Gym

Birth: Fall 1969
Age: 40 years
Capacity: 1900
Architect: William K. Noppe

Friday night's basketball contests against the Simon Fraser University Clan marked the end of an era for Trinity Western University and the Spartans as next season, 2009-2010, TWU will be playing their home games at the soon to be completed Langley Event Centre.

So on Jan. 30, 2009, after 40 years of faithful service the David E. Enarson Gym was the final graduating senior of the class of 2008-2009. "Dave would have been very proud to be here tonight to witness this goodbye," commented Dan Enarson, son of David E. Enarson.

There is limited information about the early days of the David E., but history does tell us a number of remarkable facts about the wonderful building that was once the largest sporting complex in the Fraser Valley.

In 1969 the David E. Enarson Gymnasium and Auditorium was completed. The building was designed by Mr. William K. Noppe. Mr. Noppe was also the architect of the Pacific Coliseum and his services were largely a personal contribution to Trinity Junior College. At the time of completion the enrolment at TJC was between 300 and 310 students.

The following year, 1970, the auditorium/gymnasium was dedicated and named in honour of the Reverend David E. Enarson, the first Chairman of the school's Board of Governors, for "his enthusiastic leadership in the formation of the new college," - Dan Enarson

The first game to be played was a men's basketball game on Nov. 7, 1969. Under head coach Don Tavolacci Trinity defeated Vancouver Community College 80-61. The roster for the historic team included: Peter Toews, Pat Lee, Ron Peters, Rod Carlson, Steve Ford, Mark Sanny, Roger Welsh, Jeff Thomas, John Block, Harvey Engbrecht, Phil Enarson, David Bartke, David Dunn, Gary Worthington.

The first women's basketball game was played in 1973 against B.C.I.T., a 47-38 loss. The first win came over Douglas College, 29-21. (Actual dates are unknown). The first women's volleyball game was played in 1972-1973, while the first men's volleyball team began play in 1981-82.

In the fall of 1999 TWU began play in the Canadian Interuniversity Athletic Union (CIAU), now known as Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS). There have been many historic moments in the brief ten years of CIS play in the David E. Enarson Gym.

First CIS Games
Women's and Men's Basketball vs Lethbridge Nov. 5 1999
Women's and Men's Volleyball vs Alberta Oct. 29, 1999

First CIS wins
Women's Basketball vs Nov. 5, 1999 82-70.
Men's Basketball vs Nov. 19, 1999 vs. Regina 79-78.
Women's Volleyball vs Feb. 3, 2001 vs Winnipeg 3-0
Men's Volleyball vs Jan. 14, 2000 vs. Calgary 3-2

First CIS play-off games and first play-off wins
MB Feb. 13, 2003 vs. SFU 70-58 win
WV Feb 16, 2006 vs. Regina 3-1 win
MV Feb 16, 2006 vs. Winnipeg 3-1 win

Men's Basketball Most Points
1983-84 Rob Enns 47 points, Feb. 10 vs. Northwest Christian College (or NW College)
1990-91 Jason Kinloch 51 points, Nov. 13 vs. Northwest Christian College 117-100 win
2002-03 Adam Friesen 41 points, Oct. 25 vs. McMaster 97-86 win

Women's Basketball Most Points
1987-88 Connie Lundin 38 points, Dec. 4 vs. VCC7 0-64 loss
2005-06 Taylor Stuart 35 points, Nov. 4 vs. Regina 77-76 loss

Men's Volleyball Most Kills
1999-00 Luke Bainard 32 kills, Feb. 4 vs University of Regina Cougars

Women's Volleyball Most Kills
2006-07 Liz Spear 21 kills, Jan. 12 vs. University of Manitoba Bisons.

As of today there have been 473 total men's basketball games, 131 in the CIS, played in the David E. Enarson Gym.

The final Spartan players to play in the David E. Enarson Gym from the women's and men's basketball teams are:

Women's Basketball:
Head Coach Kerby Court, Becky Atkinson, Crystal Ballentyne, Stephanie Carkner, Laura Craig, Lauren Doubroff, Keely Goertzen, Lindsey Gustafson, Katie Haworth, Amanda Knauff, Liesa Ohman, Tiffany Olsen, Corina Reimer, Julianne Threlfall, Jordan Verhoeff.

Men's Basketball:
Head Coach Scott Allen, Brian Banman, Michael Brouwer, Daniel Demian, Jacob Doerksen, Ryan Froese, Blair Hogg, Daniel Horner, Louis Hurd, Tonner Jackson, Jason Keegstra, Matt Myers, Jon Schmidt, Stewart Smith, Jamie Vaughan, Lance Verhoeff, Joe Vroom, Calvin Westbrook.

Congratulations David E. Enarson Gymnasium. Thank-youfor being a wonderful home for the Trinity Western University Spartans and the Spartan Faithful.


Last Updated: 2009-02-01
Author: Scott Stewart