Spartan Spotlight - Casie Gano

LANGLEY, British Columbia - Casie Gano calls it “the most embarrassing day of (her) life.”

Perhaps the Trinity Western middle was being a touch hyperbolic, but given the tone in which she recollected the events, perhaps not at all.

At 14 years old, the then 6-foot Gano sat in a school parking lot in Cochrane, Alta. pleading with her mom not to force her to go into the gym.

Outside of the car and inside the gymnasium doors were a bunch of fellow 14-year-old girls preparing to try out for the Cochrane-based U15 Jaguars Volleyball club team. She was relatively new to volleyball in general and club volleyball was an entirely foreign concept altogether. Gano, who is from Sundre, Alta. and had just made the hour drive to Cochrane, didn’t want to go in.

“I realized halfway there that I don’t know anybody, that I’ve never done this before and that I’m not good at volleyball,” Gano says. “I just got nervous and I was like, ‘I don’t want to do this.’”

Her mom assured her that she didn’t have to go in, but suggested that it would probably be a good idea just to give it a shot.

“So I went in,” Gano says. “And I was mortified.”

As a 14-year-old girl, when everyone else is wearing one thing and you’re wearing something vastly different, it can be traumatizing. Such was the case for Gano as she stood in the gym wearing basketball shoes, basketball shorts and a Dwayne Wade basketball jersey.

“I was the only person wearing these baggy clothes,” Gano says. “I didn’t even know spandex existed at this point in my life.

“My cousin (Tristin Hogarth) was there. She came up to me and was like, ‘What are you wearing?’”

That probably didn’t help.